The Outer Banks Hospital (TOBH) and Medical Group awarded three Beacon of Health awards in 2020: Physician of the Year, Advanced Practice Provider (APP) of the Year and Employee of the Year.

Nominations for both the Physician of the Year and APP of the Year awards are submitted by patients, supervisors, peers, team members and the community through an online portal. The hospital and medical group administration and TOBH Board of Directors review the nominations to select the recipients. Nominees must demonstrate patient advocacy, collaboration, quality initiatives, community involvement and leadership/mentoring.

Chosen by the administration from the year’s 12 Employees of the Month, the Employee of the Year exemplifies our values of integrity, compassion, education, accountability, safety and teamwork.


The 2020 Beacon of Health Award — Physician of the Year is Christian Lige’, M.D., a pediatrician with Surf Pediatrics and Medicine. Kellie Flock, P.A., with Surf Pediatrics and Medicine, stated, “We think the world of Christian. He educates and talks to patients to solve problems that may arise. He is a person who exudes all the qualities you are looking for and then some. Kind, caring, compassionate, giving; there is not another person more deserving of this award.”


Ben Kershner, CRNA at TOBH, is the 2020 Beacon of Health — APP of the Year. “Ben is not only a huge asset to the Surgery Department, but to the entire hospital,” Cindy Nilson, director of Perioperative Services at TOBH, relayed. “He has a super rapport with doctors, staff and patients. We love having him here.”

Our 2020 Beacon of Health — Employee of the Year is Kevin Lucas, R.N., staff nurse in the Emergency Department at TOBH. “Kevin is a team member who is always willing to jump in and lend a helping hand,” stated Marcia Bryant, R.N., vice president, Clinical Operations. She continued, “He has an upbeat and positive attitude at all times, putting team members and patients at ease. He can break the ice in a tense situation and goes above and beyond to be an advocate for patients and fellow co-workers alike.”

We congratulate our 2020 Beacon of Health award winners along with all the nominees.


The 2019 Beacon of Health recipients include Physician of the Year Charles Shelton, M.D., radiation oncologist, The Outer Banks Radiation Therapy Center; APP of the Year Anna Oprea, P.A., Outer Banks Women’s Care; and Employee of the Year Patty Burmeister, service line coordinator, The Outer Banks Hospital Urgent Care Center - Kitty Hawk.


Left to right: Ronnie Sloan, FACHE, President, The Outer Banks Hospital and Medical Group; Lisa McGaha, Director, Inpatient Services, The Outer Banks Hospital; Lige’; Jennifer Nieman, Practice Manager, Surf Pediatrics and Medicine; Kelly Divita, Director, Experience and Volunteer Services, The Outer Banks Hospital




Left to right: Ronnie Sloan, FACHE, President The Outer Banks Hospital and Medical Group; Kershner






Left to right: Ronnie Sloan, FACHE, President The Outer Banks Hospital and Medical Group; Marcia Bryant, VP, Clinical Operations, The Outer Banks Hospital; Lucas