Currituck County Schools


The ten schools in the Currituck County School System are now serving approximately 4,000 students in Pre-Kindergarten through 12th grade. Three new schools opened in Currituck County in the fall of 2008 – Jarvisburg Elementary, Shawboro Elementary, and the JP Knapp Early College High School.

The Currituck County School System has one of the most rigorous student accountability policies in the state and it consistently ranks high among school systems in the state for student performance on the end-of-grade tests. In 2007-08, four elementary schools met 100% of their AYP (Adequate Yearly Progress) goals outlined by “No Child Left Behind” legislation.

Currituck County Schools Main Office
2958 Caratoke Highway
P.O. Box 40
Currituck, NC 27929
Phone: 252.232.2223